Board of Directors

Annual Work Plan

For many years, the Downtown Norfolk Council Board and staff have taken a deliberate, disciplined and focused approach to addressing the needs of Downtown and our constituents. Each year, the Board sets the general direction for the staff to follow. The Board also establishes key objectives that allow them to focus their energy and resources on the areas where they feel they truly can make a difference. These objectives are addressed in depth by the Board, and established committees focus entirely on these objectives. The key objectives for the DNC Board for FY2018 have been consolidated into Strategic Initiatives and are as follows:

  • Nurture a vibrant urban environment attractive to retail and business
  • Reinforce authenticity and innovation, enhance connectivity, and create unique and inviting places that value pedestrians
  • Publicly and privately steward the NEON District towards a safe, creative, and always attractive environment for artists, cultural organizations, businesses and residents

A more detailed description of our FY18 Strategic Initiatives can be viewed here

And as always, the Board is focused on responsible advocacy for Downtown and its constituents.

Please contact our office if there are any questions, comments or concerns.

Downtown Norfolk Council Board of Directors: FY 2017-2018

The 30-member DNC Board of Directors, per our bylaws, represents 16 property owners located in the Downtown Improvement District and 14 of our DNC Members.  Additionally, liaisons to the Board are selected each year, and the Mayor serves as ex-officio member with two council persons representing the two council wards encompassing Downtown..

The Board of Directors hold their meetings on a monthly basis on the second Wednesday of the month at 8:00 am. The following is a list of the Board members serving as the governing body of the organization for fiscal year 2018. 


Melodi Albert
Vice President Management Development
Dominion Enterprises *

1st Vice Chair

Drew Ungvarsky
CEO and Executive Creative Director
Grow  *

2nd Vice Chair
Tommy Leeman
First Vice President-Investments
Wells Fargo Advisors

Immediate Past Chair
James Wofford
General Manager
MacArthur Center *

Taylor Harrell
Sr. Vice President, Hampton Roads Region
Southern Bank & Trust Company  *

President/Corporate Secretary
Mary Miller
President & CEO
Downtown Norfolk Council

Board of Directors:

Raffaele Allen
Director of Assets
Marathon Development Group, Inc.  *
Drucker and Falk, LLC

Jenny Bonsiewich
Dixon Hughes Goodman

Hugh Cohen
Cohen Investment Group  *

Kathy Ferebee
​Senior Vice President/Commercial
TowneBank  *

Mike Fowler
Financial Advisor
Merrill Lynch

Perry Frazer
Sr. Vice President
CBRE | Hampton Roads

Robert Friedman
Managing Director & President
Harbor Group International  *

Mike Glenn
Luna Development

Nancy Howard
Nancy Chandler Associates

Panos Kokkinos
Manager Energy & Facilities Service
Norfolk Southern  *

Kurt Krause
Hilton Norfolk The Main *

Miles Leon
S.L. Nusbaum  *

Randy Lyall
Lyall Design

Ray Mattes
President & CEO
Retail Alliance  *

Kevin Murphy
Basketball Products International *

Richard Ottinger
Vandeventer Black

Sarah Pishko
Prince Books

John Porter
Handsome Biscuit

Mel Price
Work Program Architects

Mary Robbins
Property Manager
CBRE | Hampton Roads

Missy Schmidt
Marketing Director
xTuple  *

Chris Stuart
General Manager
Top Guard Security

Glenn Sutch
Waterside District *

Deborah Thorpe
Assistant Director
Governor's School for the Arts  *

Eva Wiggins
Director of Marketing
Harvey Lindsay Commercial Real Estate


The Honorable Kenneth C. Alexander
City of Norfolk

Ward Representatives:

The Honorable Andria McClellan
City of Norfolk

The Honorable Dr. Theresa Whibley
Vice Mayor/Ward 2

General Counsel:

Dean T. Buckius
Vandeventer Black LLP

* - Representing the Downtown Improvement District

How Downtown Works
Available Properties
Business Listings
New Arrivals