Skip to Main Content
LiveNFK Career Launch

LiveNFK

Norfolk’s Summer Career Launch 2024

The Downtown Norfolk Council, Greater Norfolk Corporation, and Norfolk Innovation Corridor are excited to kick off the tenth year of LiveNFK, a talent recruitment program designed to bring together summer interns and seasonal associates to network and experience what it’s like to live, work and play in Norfolk and the region. This summer’s LiveNFK program, which is also open to first-year employees, is a combination of professional development, networking sessions and social events. 

REGISTRATION

Companies and organizations can enroll their summer interns and associates here.

For questions or more information, please contact Emily Shield at eshield@downtownnorfolk.org or 757-452-6594. 

SCHOLARSHIPS

Two (2) $500 scholarships for school expenses (college or law school) will be awarded at the end of the program. Recipients will be selected based on engaged participation. First year employees participating in the program will be eligible to receive a gift card at the end of the program, based on engaged participation. 

SPONSORSHIP

Please contact Emily Shield at eshield@downtownnorfolk.org to discuss how your support can make a difference. 

Session Schedule

Tuesday, June 4
8:30am-10pm | Virginia Arts Festival Perry Pavilion
Welcome Event, sponsored by Virginia Arts Festival


Thursday, June 6
5:30pm-7pm | Push Comedy Theater
Intro to Improv with Push Comedy Theater


Tuesday, June 11
8am-9am | Wells Theater
Coffee and Conversations with Virginia Stage Company


Thursday, June 13
5:30pm–7pm | Sail Nauticus
Sailing regatta with Sail Nauticus 


Tuesday, June 18
9am-12pm | Slover Library
Half-Day Professional Development Seminar, sponsored by KPMG 


Tuesday, June 25
Noon-1pm | Location TBD
How to Build Financial Security with Kurt Evertz of Clearstead Advisory Solutions


Wednesday, June 26
6:35pm | Harbor Park Stadium
Norfolk Tides Baseball Game and Social 


Thursday, June 27
5:30pm-7:30pm | Rocky Mountain Grill at Waterside District
Norfolk Innovation Corridor Kickback Social


Tuesday, July 2
8am-9am | Location TBD
Coffee and Conversations with Downtown 100 Young Professionals Board


Tuesday, July 9
5:30pm-7:30pm | Town Point Park and The Lofts at Front Street
ERT Bike Ride and Social, sponsored by The Breeden Company 


Thursday, July 11
Noon-1pm | Assembly
AI in the Workplace with Shereese Floyd


Tuesday, July 16
Noon-1pm | Location TBD
Executive Lunch Talk with Matt Smith, Director of Energy & Emerging Technologies at Hampton Roads Alliance


Wednesday, July 18
Noon-1pm | VIA design
DEAI in the Workplace with Aleea Slappy Wilson, Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer for the City of Norfolk


Tuesday, July 23
Noon-1pm | Kaufman & Canoles
Young Entrepreneurs Panel Discussion, sponsored by Kaufman & Canoles


Wednesday, July 24
Noon-1pm | Location TBD
LinkedIn 101 with Haley Van Syckle Morgan


Tuesday, July 30
Noon-1pm | The Lofts at Front Street
Compassion-Centered Leadership with Tim Faulkner and Dustin Mullins, sponsored by Breeden Construction


Thursday, August 1
6pm-8:30pm | American Rover
End of Program Celebration - Sunset Cruise on the American Rover


Register for the 2024 livenfk program here



Presenting Partners



Program Sponsor